The CGA has announced the 2019 Richard S. Tufts Award winners.

They will be honored during Carolinas Golf Night and the CGA Annual Meeting at The Carolina Hotel in Pinehurst Feb. 8.

Award winners include Nicole Adam of Pinehurst (junior girls); Gene Ziegler of Florence, S.C., (junior boys); Jayne Pardus of Mount Pleasant, S.C. (senior women); Steve Harrell of Mooresville (senior men); Russ Perry of Winston-Salem (super senior men); Gina Kim of Chapel Hill (women); and Scott Harvey of Kernersville (men).

Adam has taken junior girls’ golf by storm this year with eight top-10 finishes. Most notably, Adam captured victories at the CPGA Junior Girls’ Championship and the Peggy Kirk Bell Junior at Pine Needles Lodge and Golf Club. She also made it to the Round of 64 in the 2019 U.S. Girls’ Junior Championship.

Adam is the 2018 N.C. Junior Player of the Year and is committed to play at the University of North Carolina in the fall.

Zeigler claims his first Carolinas Junior Boys’ Player of the Year honor after a year full of top finishes in several prestigious events across the Carolinas and beyond. Zeigler claimed victories at both the Anderson Brothers Bank High School Invitational and the SCJGA’s Fall Challenge.

He had 14 top-10 finishes in 2019, including a second-place finish at the CPGA-Charles Tilghman Junior Championship, a tie for seventh place at the South Carolina Junior Amateur Championship, a tie for sixth place at the Dustin Johnson World Junior Championship and a fifth-place finish at the SCISA State Championship.

Kim has had a year for the books, kicking it off with a win at the 2019 NCAA Division I Women’s National Championship as a freshman at Duke University.

The major highlight of Kim’s year came at the 2019 U.S. Women’s Open at Charleston Country Club. Not only did she make the cut but she was in contention for the title from day one. Kim ultimately earned the low-amateur honors and finished in 12th place overall. 

A tie for seventh at the 2019 Canadian Women’s Amateur Championship helped Kim achieve first place in the Carolinas Women’s Rankings and she continues to hold this rank going into 2020.

Kim also notably made it to the Round of 32 at the 2019 Women’s North and South Amateur Championship as well as the Round of 64 at the U.S. Women’s Amateur Championship.

Harvey is no stranger to the spotlight as this is his eighth year being honored as the Men’s Player of the Year. 

Harvey began his year with a big win at the 2019 Coleman Invitational, followed by his most remarkable achievement of 2019, winning the U.S. Men’s Amateur Four-Ball Championship with his partner Todd Mitchell. Harvey also captured a victory at the 2019 George C. Thomas Invitational. 

By the fall, Harvey made it to match play at the 2019 U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship, claimed runner-up at the 2019 Crump Cup, and finished off the year as a member of the winning Carolinas Team at the 74th Captain’s Putter Team Matches.

Pardus captures her first CGA Senior Women’s Player of the Year honor after two major wins and a deep run in a national championship.

Pardus’ first win of the year came at the WSCGA Senior Championship where she dominated the field to finish with an eight-shot victory. 

Her second victory didn’t come so easily. She found herself tied for first place at the end of regulation play at the 21st Carolinas Senior Women’s Amateur Championship. She was able to win her first CGA Championship title after a birdie on the first playoff hole.

Pardus was also the last Carolinian standing in the 2019 U.S. Senior Women’s Amateur Championship where she made it to the match play Round of 32.

Harwell captures his first CGA Senior Men’s Player of the Year after winning three separate CGA championship titles and several other national titles. 

Harwell’s first win of the year came at the 51st Carolinas Senior Four-Ball, where he teamed up with his long-time friend and playing partner Patrick Brady..

Less than two weeks later, he won the prestigious George L. Coleman Senior Amateur Invitational.

He’d go on to win four more individual tournaments in 2019 including the 59th Carolinas Senior Amateur, the 35th North Carolina Senior Amateur, the National Senior Hall of Fame and the CPGA Senior Fall Final. 

Harwell made it to the quarterfinals of the 2019 U.S. Senior Amateur Championship, which earned him an exemption into the 2020 championship.

Perry earns the honor of Super Senior Player of the Year for the second year in a row.  Perry’s year included a barrage of first and second-place finishes.

He was able to claim his seventh career CGA Championship title at the 11th Carolinas Super Senior Championship. 

Other wins in 2019 included the Durham Super Senior Amateur, the CPGA Super Senior Open, the CPGA Sandhills Super Senior Open and the CPGA Super Senior Spring Classic. 

About the Richard S. Tufts Awards

The Richard S. Tufts Awards were created in 1997 to honor the Carolinas amateur golfers who had exceptional individual tournament performances over the preceding year. Tufts served on the CGA Executive Committee from 1926 to 1964 and served as President from 1931 through 1933. The awards are given to the top golfer based on the CGA amateur rankings at the end of the calendar year in five of seven categories: Women’s, Men’s, Senior Women’s, Senior Men’s and Super Senior Men’s. The Senior Men’s and Senior Women’s categories were implemented in 2001, while the Super Senior Men’s award was created in 2017.

The Junior Girls’ and Junior Boys’ awards, started in 2003, are based on a series of tournaments run by associations that are the grassroots of junior golf in the Carolinas. Participating Carolinas associations and tournaments are the Carolinas Golf Association (CGA), Carolinas PGA (CPGA), Trusted Choice Big I Junior Classics, South Carolina Golf Association (SCGA), Women’s South Carolina Golf Association (WSCGA), South Carolina Junior Golf Association (SCJGA), Tarheel Youth Golf Association (TYGA), Carolinas-Georgia Junior Championship and the Joe Cheves Junior Invitational.

Eight Carolinas Men’s Players of the Year are current or former PGA Tour members while seven Carolinas Women’s Players of the Year have competed on the LPGA TOUR. Notable past Tufts award winners include: Jonathan Byrd (1999, PGA Tour), Beth Bauer (1999, LPGA), D.J. Trahan (2000-2002, PGA Tour), Marcy Newton Hart (2000, LPGA), Brandi Jackson (2002, LPGA), Bill Haas (2003, PGA Tour), Webb Simpson (2006, PGA Tour), Dustin Johnson (2007, PGA Tour), Cydney Clanton (2009-10, LPGA), Mark Anderson (2009, PGA Tour), Austin Ernst (2011, LPGA), Katelyn Dambaugh (2016, LPGA), Anna Redding (2018, LPGA).

Thank you for Reading!

Please purchase a subscription to continue reading. Subscribe today and support local community journalism.

Digital Only Subscriptions

Thank you for visiting and supporting award-winning community journalism. Not everyone wants to have a newspaper delivered to their home, but they want to keep up with the latest news in Moore County. Click here to gain digital-only access and support local journalism.

Starting at
$1.07 for 1 day

Connect Print Subscription to Digital Access

Thank you for visiting Your Pilot subscription entitles you to unlimited digital access. Simply log in. From the home page, click on Subscription Services. Then click on "Pilot All Access Print Subscribers." It should show your phone number . If so, click "Sign Up." After a few seconds, it will take you back to the home page. Log out, then log back in. You're set! For any problems, call our customer service number at 910-693-2487 or 693-2488.

Free access for current print subscribers