Voting booth

File photo

Voters in Moore County’s smaller municipalities on Tuesday filled seats on their respective governing councils.

Just over 1,000 voters took advantage of early voting this year, meaning around 39,700 registered voters who live within the boundaries of one of Moore County’s 11 municipalities were eligible to hit the polls.

According to the Moore County Board of Elections, the overall turnout Tuesday was 8,742 voters, or 21 percent of registered voters. That’s a bit lower than the 24 percent turnout in 2019 but better than 2017, when 18 percent of registered voters cast ballots.

Following are the results for the county’s smaller municipalities. These totals are complete but unofficial until certified by the Board of Elections, which is expected to do so next week:


Jim Leiby won the mayor's race by five votes over Tasherra Nichols.

John Frutchey and Kane Parsons both received 31 votes for the two expired commissioner seats. David Seiberling was elected into one of two unexpired commissioner seats, with 15 write-in ballots cast as well.


Anton Sadovnikov, John McDonald and Brent Tanner won the three open commissioner seats that have a four-year term with two of the three. Former Commissioner George Wilson Jr. came up short of returning to the board, finishing fourth.


Gary Samuels, Janet Nauman and Donald Nelson, won the three council seats up for grabs in the 10-candidate race. They will serve four-year terms.

Janice Gregorich claimed the unexpired council member seat, and will serve the final two years left on the term.


Ronald L. McDonald won the mayoral seat, a four-year term, with 72 percent of the vote.

Robbie Conley and Jerry Williams claimed the two open commissioner seats.


Cameron Dockery won the mayoral race. He ran unopposed after Neil Johnson, whose name was on the ballot, dropped out and shifted his support to Dockery.

The three commissioner seats with four-year terms were filled by Jody Lee Britt, former mayor Lonnie English and mayor pro tem Nikki Bradshaw. Terri Holt, the longest serving member on the town board, fell three votes short and finished fourth. She will not return for another term on the board on which she has served since 2009..


The five open council seats available were won by Sidney Gaddy, Bridget Cotton, Nadine Moody, James Lattimore Thompson and Garry Brown for the positions that come with two-year terms.


Eddie Callahan won the mayoral race by three votes over Angela Vacek.

For the two open commissioner seats, Kris Kosem and Emily Oldham were elected for the four-year terms.

Whispering Pines

Andy Conway, Pamela Harris and Linda Vandercook claimed the three council seats.

Contact Jonathan Bym at (910) 693-2470 or

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Comments that violate any of the rules above are subject to removal by staff.

Thank you for reading!

Please purchase a subscription to continue reading. Subscribe today and support local community journalism.

Digital Only Subscriptions

The Pilot

Get unlimited digital access and support award-winning local journalism, for just $5 a month. This includes access to the electronic replica edition of The Pilot.

Starting at
$5.35 for 30 days

Already have a Print Subscription? Get Digital Access Free.

The Pilot

As a print subscriber, you also have unlimited digital access. Connect your account now.

Home Delivery

The Pilot

Our best deal: Get all the news of Moore County delivered to your home each Wednesday and Sunday — and receive unlimited digital access to

Starting at
$27.82 for 90 days