Voting features 27.jpg

Voting at the Senior Enrichment Center in Pinehurst. Ted Fitzgerald/The Pilot

Two veterans of county-level politics will be seeking local seats on municipal boards, as the filing period for this year’s election closed midday Friday.

Former Moore County Sheriff Neil Godfrey filed for one of two unexpired two-year term council seats for Whispering Pines. And Randy Saunders, a former Moore County commissioner who had previously served on the Whispering Pines Village Council, also submitted paperwork late this week to run for one of two four-year term seats.

More than any other race, the Whispering Pines municipal election will be the one to watch, as candidates poured into the Moore County Board of Elections this week to file for the village seats.

Saunders and Joe Wincklhofer submitted applications, joining Alexa Roberts and Glenn Bernhard on the ballot for one of two open four-year term council seats. Andy Conway, Neil Godfrey, Pamela Harris, Denise Racey and Tim Venjohn have also filed, joining Ian Duke, Dean Kalles, and Matthew Martin in seeking to fill one of two unexpired two-year term open council seats for Whispering Pines.

Racey ran unopposed for the Village Council in 2017 and was halfway through her four-year term when she resigned last month, saying she was upset with how the board was making decisions.

In total, 68 candidates filed for one of 32 seats on local boards that will be determined in this year’s municipal elections.

Claire Berggren has filed for the open mayoral seat in Pinehurst, joining fellow former council member John Strickland on the ballot. Stuart Mills and Kenneth Saylor will join Lydia Boesch and Jane Hogeman in seeking one of two open Pinehurst Council seats.

Craig Morrison filed for the open mayoral seat in Southern Pines, setting up a two-way race with Council Member Carol Haney who announced her candidacy in May. John McLaughlin filed Friday, and joins the Rev. Dr. Paul Murphy and Bill Pate on the ballot for one of two open council member seats in Southern Pines.

Kevin Lewis and Lee McGraw both filed this week for the open mayoral seat in Carthage, joining Town Commissioners Jimmy Challflinch and George Wilson, Jr., on the ballot. Al Barber also newly filed this week, joining Dan Bonillo and Dustin Smith who are seeking one of two open commissioner seats.

Incumbent Lonnie English filed Friday just ahead of the deadline, and will run uncontested for re-election to the mayoral seat for Robbins. Kevin Stewart also filed late this week, joining incumbent Brandon Phillips and Cameron Dockery in seeking one of two open commissioners seats for the town.

Other candidates filing this week include Peter Campbell and Adriana Marquez Janker, who join Teressa Beavers, Bryan Bowles, and Elease Goodwin in vying for one of three open commissioner seats in Aberdeen. Incumbent Robbie Farrell is seeking re-election for a third-term as mayor.

Incumbent candidates Ginger Bauerband and Mark Hildreth, and newcomer Jim Leiby, have joined Lisa Chapman on the ballot for one of three open full-term commissioner seats in Cameron. As previously reported, incumbent David Seiberling filed for the unexpired two-year term commissioner seat.

Donald Boito has joined Mike Cole on the ballot for one of two open council seats for Foxfire Village.

Jeffrey Schafer and Diane Witkowski will be on the ballot with Guy McGraw, and incumbents Skip Ruedeman, George Stone and Mike Thomas who have all filed for one of three open four-year term seats for Pinebluff. Jerry Williams joins Ronald McDonald in seeking to fill an unexpired two-year term as commissioner.

Garry Brown has filed for one of five open seats on the Taylortown Town Council. Mayor Ulysses Barrett, Jr. has filed for re-election, and will be joined on the ballot by fellow incumbents Eddie Lloyd, Mitchell Ratliff, Marvin Taylor, and James Thompson; and newcomer Bridget Cotton.

James Moore announced his intent to run for mayor of Vass earlier this week, joining challenger Angela Vacek and incumbent Eddie Callahan who submitted paperwork last week. Incumbents Alphonso Mosely, Jr. and Jr. Blackwell, Jr. join Matthew Callahan on the ballot for one of three open commissioner seats in Vass.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Comments that violate any of the rules above are subject to removal by staff.

Thank you for Reading!

Please purchase a subscription to continue reading. Subscribe today and support local community journalism.

Digital Only Subscriptions

Thank you for visiting and supporting award-winning community journalism. Not everyone wants to have a newspaper delivered to their home, but they want to keep up with the latest news in Moore County. Click here to gain digital-only access and support local journalism.

Starting at
$1.07 for 1 day

Connect Print Subscription to Digital Access

Thank you for visiting Your Pilot subscription entitles you to unlimited digital access. Simply log in. From the home page, click on Subscription Services. Then click on "Pilot All Access Print Subscribers." It should show your phone number . If so, click "Sign Up." After a few seconds, it will take you back to the home page. Log out, then log back in. You're set! For any problems, call our customer service number at 910-693-2487 or 693-2488.

Free access for current print subscribers