Voting features 14.jpg

File photo: Voting in Pinehurst at Pinehurst Municipal Hall. Ted Fitzgerald/The Pilot

Less than 10 days remain in the official filing period for this year’s municipal elections, yet half of the seats expected to be filled by voters in November have not attracted candidates thus far.

Thirty-two seats on town boards and councils will be up for grabs in this year’s municipal election. As of midday Tuesday, the Moore County Board of Elections had received applications for 15 of those seats -- leaving the majority unfilled at this time.

No candidates have filed for the four commissioner seats for Cameron, two council member seats for Foxfire Village, one unexpired commissioner seat for Pinebluff, the mayoral seat in Robbins and two commissioner seats; two council member seats in Southern Pines; and five council member seats in Taylortown.

Aberdeen Mayor Robbie Farrell is seeking re-election to a third term and is the only mayoral incumbent candidate yet to file. Also on the ballot this year will be George Wilson, Jr. and Jimmy Challflinch who are running for mayor of Carthage; Chris Notaro and John Strickland have filed for the mayoral seat in Pinehurst; Carol Haney for Southern Pines; and Angela Vacek and incumbent Eddie Callahan for Vass.

Other candidates who filed applications this week include Bryan Bowles, for one of three open seats on the Aberdeen Town Board; R. Dustin Smith and Dan Bonillo, for one of two open commissioner seats in Carthage; incumbent Skip Ruedeman, for one of three commissioner seats in Pinebluff; Jane Hogeman, for one of two council seats in Pinehurst; incumbent George “JR” Blackwell Jr., who is seeking re-election to a second term in Vass; and Glenn Bernhard and Alexa Roberts, for one of two council member (four-year term) seats, and also Ian Duke, Dean Kalles, and Matthew Martin, for one of two unexpired (two-year term) seats in Whispering Pines.

The official filing period runs to noon on July 19.

All open seats that will be determined by this year’s municipal election include:

* Aberdeen — Mayor (currently Robbie Farrell) and three town commissioner (four-year term) seats.

* Cameron — Three town commissioner (four-year term) seats and one commissioner unexpired term (two-year) seat.

* Carthage — Mayor (currently Lee McGraw) and two town commissioner (four-year terms) seats.

* Foxfire Village — Two town commissioner (four-year term) seats.

* Pinebluff — Three town commissioner (four-year term) seats and one town commissioner unexpired term (two-year) seat.

* Pinehurst — Mayor (currently Nancy Roy Fiorillo) and two council member (four-year term) seats.

* Robbins — Mayor (currently Lonnie English) and two town commissioner (four-year term) seats.

* Southern Pines -- Mayor (currently David McNeill) and two council member (four-year term) seats.

* Taylortown -- Five council member (two-year term) seats.

* Vass — Mayor (currently Eddie Callahan Jr.) and three town commissioner (four-year term) seats.

* Whispering Pines — Two council member (four-year term) seats and one council member unexpired term (two-year) seat.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Comments that violate any of the rules above are subject to removal by staff.

Thank you for Reading!

Please purchase a subscription to continue reading. Subscribe today and support local community journalism.

Digital Only Subscriptions

Thank you for visiting and supporting award-winning community journalism. Not everyone wants to have a newspaper delivered to their home, but they want to keep up with the latest news in Moore County. Click here to gain digital-only access and support local journalism.

Starting at
$1.07 for 1 day

Connect Print Subscription to Digital Access

Thank you for visiting Your Pilot subscription entitles you to unlimited digital access. Simply log in. From the home page, click on Subscription Services. Then click on "Pilot All Access Print Subscribers." It should show your phone number . If so, click "Sign Up." After a few seconds, it will take you back to the home page. Log out, then log back in. You're set! For any problems, call our customer service number at 910-693-2487 or 693-2488.

Free access for current print subscribers