Election Filing opens

Carthage mayoral candidate George Wilson, left, was the first to file for this year's local municipal elections. He is joined at the table by Pinehurst mayoral candidate Chris Notaro and Moore County Elections Director Glenda Clendenin.

Laura Douglass/The Pilot

The municipal election filing period opened Friday at noon with some familiar faces and a few political newcomers in the crowd.

Carthage Town Commissioner George Wilson was the first candidate in the door of the Moore County Board of Elections office. He is seeking the mayoral seat, one of six in the county’s 11 municipalities that will be filled by voters come November.

“I’m fired up and ready to go,” said Wilson.

He will be joined by on the ballot by fellow Carthage Town Commissioner Jimmy Challflinch, who also arrived within the first hour of the filing period opening.

Other early registered mayoral candidates include Chris Notaro and John Strickland for Pinehurst; Carol Haney for Southern Pines; Angela Vacek and incumbent Eddie Callahan for Vass; and incumbent Robbie Farrell for Aberdeen. Southern Pines Mayor David McNeill and Pinehurst Mayor Nancy Roy Fiorillo have both already announced they will not seek re-election this fall.

Election filing opens 2

Incumbent Robbie Farrell, left, filed his intent to run for re-election for a third term as mayor of Aberdeen. He is joined by Southern Pines mayoral candidate and current town council member, Carol Haney, and Moore County Board of Elections staff Angela Atkinson and Glenda Clendenin.

Laura Douglass/The Pilot

Also signing paperwork on Friday were Bryan Bowles, who filed for one of three open seats on the Aberdeen Town Board; R. Dustin Smith and Dan Bonillo for seats on the Carthage Town Board; and incumbent George “JR” Blackwell Jr., who is seeking a second term on the Vass Town Board.

Whispering Pines council candidates who filed by 3 p.m. on Friday included Glenn Bernhard, who is seeking one of the two full four-year term open seats. Ian Duke and Dean Kalles are seeking to fill one of two unexpired two-year term seats.

In total, there are 32 seats on town boards and councils that will be up for grabs in this year’s municipal election. These seats include:

* Aberdeen — Mayor (currently Robbie Farrell) and three town commissioner (four-year term) seats.

* Cameron — Three town commissioner (four-year term) seats and one commissioner unexpired term (two-year) seat.

* Carthage — Mayor (currently Lee McGraw) and two town commissioner (four-year terms) seats.

* Foxfire Village — Two town commissioner (four-year term) seats.

* Pinebluff — Three town commissioner (four-year term) seats and one town commissioner unexpired term (two-year) seat.

* Pinehurst — Mayor (currently Nancy Roy Fiorillo) and two council member (four-year term) seats.

* Robbins — Mayor (currently Lonnie English) and two town commissioner (four-year term) seats.

* Southern Pines -- Mayor (currently David McNeill) and two council member (four-year term) seats.

* Taylortown -- Five council member (two-year term) seats.

* Vass — Mayor (currently Eddie Callahan Jr.) and three town commissioner (four-year term) seats.

* Whispering Pines — Two council member (four-year term) seats and one council member unexpired term (two-year) seat.

The official filing period runs to noon on July 19.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Comments that violate any of the rules above are subject to removal by staff.

Thank you for Reading!

Please purchase a subscription to continue reading. Subscribe today and support local community journalism.

Digital Only Subscriptions

Thank you for visiting ThePilot.com and supporting award-winning community journalism. Not everyone wants to have a newspaper delivered to their home, but they want to keep up with the latest news in Moore County. Click here to gain digital-only access and support local journalism.

Starting at
$1.07 for 1 day

Connect Print Subscription to Digital Access

Thank you for visiting ThePilot.com. Your Pilot subscription entitles you to unlimited digital access. Simply log in. From the home page, click on Subscription Services. Then click on "Pilot All Access Print Subscribers." It should show your phone number . If so, click "Sign Up." After a few seconds, it will take you back to the home page. Log out, then log back in. You're set! For any problems, call our customer service number at 910-693-2487 or 693-2488.

Free access for current print subscribers