Voting features 22.jpg

File photo, voter collects a ballot at the Senior Enrichment Center in Pinehurst. Ted Fitzgerald/The Pilot

This year’s municipal elections ballot is taking shape as the two-week filing period for candidates is set to close on Friday at noon.

The mayoral seat for Robbins had not yet attracted any interest — at midday Tuesday — and positions for two commissioners in Cameron, and one council member for Foxfire Village still lacked enough candidates to fill the open seats.

Lydia Boesch filed for one of two open seats on the Pinehurst Village Council, joining Jane Hogeman on the ballot. Former Pinehurst council member John Strickland filed his intent to run for mayor and is the only candidate, following Chris Notaro’s decision to withdraw his name from contention.

Incumbent David Seiberling filed for the unexpired two-year term on the Cameron Town Board. He joins Lisa Chapman who is the sole candidate to file, thus far, for one of three full term seats.

Ronald McDonald has filed his interest to fill an unexpired two-year term as commissioner for Pinebluff. Also new on the ballot is Guy McGraw, who filed Tuesday, joining incumbents Skip Ruedeman and George Stone, and Mike Thomas who have filed for one of the three open four-year term seats.

James Moore announced his intent to run for mayor of Vass earlier this week, joining challenger Angela Vacek and incumbent Eddie Callahan who submitted paperwork last week.

Incumbent Alphonso Mosely, Jr. also newly filed for one of three open commissioner seats in Vass, joining incumbent JR Blackwell, Jr. and Matthew Callahan on the ballot.

Mike Cole has filed for Foxfire Village, but with two open council seats there are not enough candidates to fill the available positions at this point.

Teressa Beavers has filed for one of three open seats on the Aberdeen Town Board. She will be joined on the ballot so far by incumbent Elease Goodwin and Bryan Bowles. Aberdeen Mayor Robbie Farrell is also seeking re-election to a third term of office.

As previously reported, Carthage Town Commissioners Jimmy Challflinch and George Wilson, Jr., are both in the running for mayor of Carthage. They will be joined on the ballot by Dan Bonillo and Dustin Smith who are seeking one of two open commissioner seats.

The Rev. Dr. Paul Murphy, who was appointed to serve on the Southern Pines Town Council last fall, has filed his intent to run for one of two open council member seats in Southern Pines. He will be joined on the ballot by Bill Pate, who filed last Wednesday.

Southern Pines Council Member Carol Haney is seeking election to the mayoral seat and remains unchallenged. If she is elected, the Town Council would fill her seat by appointment.

Incumbent Brandon Phillips and Cameron Dockery have filed for one of two open commissioners seats with Robbins. Robbins Mayor Lonnie English has been non-committal on whether he would seek re-election to a third term.

Taylortown Mayor Ulysses Barrett, Jr. has filed for re-election, and will be joined on the ballot by fellow incumbents Eddie Lloyd, Mitchell Ratliff, Marvin Taylor, and James Thompson; and newcomer Bridget Cotton.

Alexa Roberts and Glenn Bernhard have filed for one of two four-year term open commissioner seats in Whispering Pines. They will be joined by Ian Duke, Dean Kalles, and Matthew Martin who filed their intent to run for one of two unexpired two-year term open commissioner seats.

In total, 32 seats on local boards will be up for grabs in this year’s municipal election, including six open mayoral seats.

The official filing period runs to noon on Friday.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Comments that violate any of the rules above are subject to removal by staff.

Thank you for Reading!

Please purchase a subscription to continue reading. Subscribe today and support local community journalism.

Digital Only Subscriptions

Thank you for visiting and supporting award-winning community journalism. Not everyone wants to have a newspaper delivered to their home, but they want to keep up with the latest news in Moore County. Click here to gain digital-only access and support local journalism.

Starting at
$1.07 for 1 day

Connect Print Subscription to Digital Access

Thank you for visiting Your Pilot subscription entitles you to unlimited digital access. Simply log in. From the home page, click on Subscription Services. Then click on "Pilot All Access Print Subscribers." It should show your phone number . If so, click "Sign Up." After a few seconds, it will take you back to the home page. Log out, then log back in. You're set! For any problems, call our customer service number at 910-693-2487 or 693-2488.

Free access for current print subscribers